In the Beginning…

Welcome to A Purl of Great Price! I am so happy you’ve found your way here. This is a place you are always welcome to share your experiences, learn others, and just be yourself. The main focus of this blog is twofold. I hope to share several of my favorite knitting patterns with you, as well as some reflections on the Good Book.

I have found knitting to be extremely meditative. It’s a great way to pray, and I think one of the greatest gifts is getting to give. Making someone something special and then giving it to them, telling them you prayed for them while you made it is one of my favorite things to do. I hope to inspire that same sense of generosity in you!

The name “A Purl of Great Price” comes from the Gospel of Matthew (13:45-46):

“The kingdom of heaven is like a treasure buried in a field, which a person finds and hides again, and out of joy goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.

Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant searching for fine pearls. When he finds a pearl of great price, he goes and sells all that he has and buys it.”

The Kingdom of Heaven is like a pearl of great price. I am called to sell everything I have for the sake of inheriting this Kingdom. I love this parable, because it shows the simplicity, yet truth and beauty about the Kingdom of Heaven.

I also include verse 45 here, because of the line, “out of joy goes and sells all that he has.” How beautiful is that? Out of joy, I am called to give everything up and pursue Him alone. Christ is the only goal!

In addition to this sweet reference, Pearl is spelled Purl after the purl stitch, which we’ll learn a little later on.

That’s just a little taste of the reflections we’ll be doing here at A Purl of Great Price. To give you a short overview of what I’ll be leading you through, we’re going to be learning how to make a scarf, a head warmer, a baby blanket, and finally, a shrug.

 

Look forward to learning how to cast on in the next post!

 

slip-knot-blog-1

Featured Image: https://www.stpeterslist.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/Universe-Large.jpeg

3 thoughts on “In the Beginning…

Leave a Reply

