Secure in a Scarf & His Embrace (pt. 1)

I don’t know about you, but to me, one of the best feelings in the world is stepping out into the cold, wrapped in a warm scarf (and plenty of other cozy layers!) I love the feeling of chill, but knowing that I won’t really be affected by it, because I’m nice and snug in a scarf. Now imagine that someone you love made that scarf for you. Here on A Purl of Great Price, I want to focus on the virtue of generosity. I encourage you to make these things for fun, but to also make them for people you love. Giving someone you love something that you put your love into feels so good, and seeing them use it and cherish it is even more special!

This scarf pattern is one of the first things I ever made, and I gave it to my mom as a Christmas present two years ago. She still wears it, and I know she loves it a lot!

Hopefully you’ve made a few small samples with my past blogs – so you know how to cast on, knit, start new rows, and fix the occasional mistake. That’s all you need to know to make a scarf! This scarf is a great first project. We’ll be starting with big needles, making it simple to

For this pattern, you’ll need:

  • Size 10 needles
  • Thick, bulky yarn (something that requires at least 5 mm yarn) These look good to me:

5420288  dire_wolf_coussin_1_4c0774ca-668e-4134-a624-eb55059108cc

Great! Now we’re ready to start. In this blog, we’ll focus just on the beginning steps, so make sure you look for future blogs to continue making the scarf.

Cozy Scarf (pt. 1)

  1. Make a slip knot as your first stitch & slide it onto a needle. Remember to leave about a foot as a tail behind it!
  2. Cast on 20 stitches (if you need a refresher on casting on, check out this blog). The scarf will be about as wide as your stitches, so if you want your scarf to be wider, cast on a few more stitches, and take some off if you want it to be thinner. Remember when you’re measuring this that your stitches should be a little bit apart, like this:casting-on-garter-stitch-scarf
  3. See the next post to finish the scarf!

Here and here are two videos of similar scarves for beginners, if you want to see it happening in real time.


Processed with Rookie

Our Lord is so good and faithful. If I have learned anything about Him in the past few years in my relationship with Him, it’s that I am never alone. In trusting Him with my whole life, I know that I will always have hope. Christ wants nothing for me but goodness. He has a plan for me, for my whole life. Why wouldn’t I trust Him with all that I am?

“For I know well the plans I have in mind for you, says the Lord, plans for your welfare and not for woe, so as to give you a future of hope. When you call me, and come and pray to me, I will listen to you. When you look for me, you will find me. Yes, when you seek me with all your heart, I will let you find me, says the Lord, and I will change your lot.” – Jeremiah 29: 11-14


Featured image: http://picture-cdn.wheretoget.it/qzo5lh-l-610×610-shirt-stripes-scarf-coffee-rings-black+white-color-marroon-fall-fall+colors-striped-long+sleeves.jpg

3 thoughts on “Secure in a Scarf & His Embrace (pt. 1)

Leave a Reply

