Purls are a Girl’s Best Friend

Hey there! I hope you’re enjoying the art of knitting, and this blog has helped you to begin, or has strengthened your skills! Up until now, the most important thing you’ve learned how to do is simply how to knit. Each stitch is important and necessary for the overall project to come out looking how you want it, so it’s vital to pay close attention to your work.

Just as the knit stitch ultimately makes up an entire work, so can the purl stitch. A combination of knits and purls can lead to beautiful projects! A purl stitch is ultimately a backwards knit. The two side by side look like this:

2338515

The stitch of a knit shows up behind the needle, and the stitch of a purl shows up in front of the needle. It’s a really cool think to work into your projects, and once you’re comfortable with it, there are really awesome things you can use it for!

Here’s how to do the purl stitch:

  1. Always knit the first stitch in a row. It’s much easier to go into a row having knit the first stitch, then switch to purl stitches.
  2. Move the working yarn from behind your right needle to in front of your right needle
  3. Put your right needle into the loop of the first stitch on the left needle (from right to left)
  4. Wrap the working yarn around the right needle (from the right side of the needle, to behind, to left side of the needle)
  5. Pull the right needle down, and push it behind the left needle, catching the loop you just made with the working needle.

If you think of these steps in terms of the knit stitch, but simply backwards, it might be a little easier. Or, here and here are two great videos on how to purl in case you need to see it done in front of you. You’re purling!


The title of this blog is obviously a play on the common phrase, “diamonds are a girl’s best friend.” But all puns aside, a girl’s best friend isn’t anything she can wear or hold or possess. I’ve come to know the truth of the Father’s love for me, and I’ve realized that His friendship is the greatest I’ll ever have. One of my favorite Bible verses of all time is Psalm 139:

Lord, you have probed me, you know me. You know when I sit and when I stand; you understand my thoughts from afar. You sift through my travels and my rest; with all my ways you are familiar. Even before a word is on my lips, Lord, you know it all. Behind and before you encircle me, and rest your hand upon me.” –Psalm 139: 1-5 (if you have time, pray with the rest of it! It’s so good).

Praying with these verses always help to remind me that no matter what else is going on in my life, that I will always know and be known by the King of the Universe. He cares so deeply for me, and there is nothing I could do to make Him love me less. He knows it all, and He still wants me more than anything. What a perfect, wonderful, merciful, beautiful best friend!


Featured Image: https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/564x/b2/81/93/b28193650013dc03766de8bc83ccde86.jpg

2 thoughts on “Purls are a Girl’s Best Friend

Leave a Reply

