Rest Here Like a Child (pt. 1)

Hey there! Get ready, this pattern is one of my absolute all-time favorites. It takes a while to complete, especially if you use smaller needles and yarn like I did the first time, but the result is gorgeous. We’ll be making a super sweet basket weave baby blanket!

4x2-basket-weave-stitch-sample-more-223991

My favorite sized needles to use for this pattern are size 8 (5.0 mm), but really any needles that fit your yarn will work. Make sure you don’t get too big, though, you want the pattern to show through nicely!

Just so you know, I’m using size US 8 (5.0 mm) needles, and Bernat’s Super Value 4-ply worsted yarn (389 m) in a pretty blue/white.

Basket Weave Baby Blanket

  1. Begin by casting on 120 stitches (I know it’s a lot, this project will take you a while! I’ve been working on mine on and off for about 2 years… not a quick one!)
  2. For the first 5 rows, you’ll be alternating purl and knit. So for the first row, k p k p k p k p, and so on.
  3. For the second row, you want your stitches to appear where they didn’t on the last row, and since you’re on the other side of the needle, you’re going to k p k p k p until you’ve finished that row.
  4. Continue in this way for 5 rows. This is the same pattern you will use for the entire outer edge of the blanket.

Here’s a link to a more basic baby blanket, if you want to try that. Also, our outer edge pattern is called “knit one purl one ribbing.” Check out this video if you want to watch someone do it real time! Be sure to check back for the rest of these blogs, to see how we’ll complete the baby blanket.


cc9d4f2620ced28f43a310abd1448726

Do you ever feel exhausted? Just so drained that you can’t really explain what you’re feeling or thinking, you’re just done? I so get it, trust me, it’s finals week at my university.

The Lord, though, doesn’t want us to feel overwhelmed or burdened. In fact, He came that we might have life and have it to the full. That doesn’t mean in the next life only, but in this life as well. He came to set us free from stress and exhaustion. He wants to secure a life here, on earth, of joy. I love what he tells us in Matthew:

“Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart; and you will find rest for yourselves. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” -Matthew 11:28-30

He wants to restore! He comes bringing hope, and a future. One that is not of fear or exhaustion, but of rest and repose in His arms. Trust in Him, and lean not on your own understanding. Run to Him!


Featured Image: https://stockinette.wordpress.com/2012/12/05/basketweave-baby-blanket/

4 thoughts on “Rest Here Like a Child (pt. 1)

Leave a Reply

